The Abel Committee

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters appoints the members of the Abel Committee, based on nominations from the International Mathematical Union and the European Mathematical Society.

The Abel Committee consists of five outstanding research scientists in the field of mathematics. Both Norwegian and non-Norwegian citizens may be members of the committee. The members of the Abel Committee are appointed for a period of two years and may be reappointed once.

The Abel Committee shall:
- Review the nominated candidates for the Abel Prize
- Submit a recommendation to the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters

Relevant documents:
- Guidelines for the Abel Committee (pdf)
- Guidelines for Research Ethics for Prizes Awarded by The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (pdf)

The Abel Committee 2022/2023:

Helge Holden
Department of Mathematical Sciences, NTNU, Norway (Chair)
Alice Guionnet
CNRS, Paris

Jun Muk Hwang
IBS, Daejeon, South Korea
Parimala Raman
Emory University, USA
Ulrike Tillmann
University of Cambridge, England