The Abel Prize – International Prize of Mathematics – Awarded yearly

The Abel Prize is named after Niels Henrik Abel, Norway’s greatest mathematician throughout the times. Abel left lasting marks on the mathematical world. His mathematics have served as a base for a number of major technological breakthroughs, there amongst the development of the internet.  The Abel Prize was established by the Norwegian Parliament (The Storting) in 2002, on the occasion the 200-year anniversary of his birth.

See also:

  • The Prize is 7,5 million Norwegian Kroner
  • The Prize is awarded by The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, on behalf of the Ministry of Education
  • The Abel Committee, consisting of five leading mathematicians from throughout the world, holds the task of appraising nominated candidates and recommend a worthy winner
Abel Prize ceremony in the Oslo University aula.

Inspiring mathematical interest in children and youth

The Abel Prize supports a number of measures directed towards stimulating the interest in mathematics among children and young people. Among these are mathematics competitions for children and teenagers, and a mathematics teacher prize. 

Film about the Abel Prize

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has made a short movie about the Abel Prize